” The Journey”

Bad-Habits

Praise the LORD! Hello everyone! Here I am Bless the LORD! A New Day! Yesterday is behind. I am so excited! Today I am going to share with what is it like being a “Non-Smoker.” Yes!! I use to be a cigarette smoker many years ago. I started smoking after I left home, I was 17 years of age, to attend a Trade School. My mother she to was a smoker and I watch her everyday picking up a cigarette and lighting it up. I didn’t know at time; it was a bad habit.  When I first taste one, I felt I was grown, and I could do whatever I wanted to do. And no one could tell me what to do are what I could not do after leaving home. I hung around a crowd of people that were smokers at school. I tried so hard to fit in. I didn’t know how to smoke. My peers would laugh at me, because I didn’t know how to hold a cigarette. I didn’t know what I was supposed to do as I inhale it. I would cough, and cough, and that didn’t feel good at all. Anyway lets move on….I later on in years, I had stopped and then picked it back up after a divorce.My life was a chaos;  I was stressed out a lot. I didn’t know what I was going to do next with my life.  I had a child and she was about eight yrs old at the time. We end up back home with my mom. I know was hooked…I knew how to hold the cigarette, and I knew how to inhale it in, and let it out through my nose. I had heard a lot about what cigarette could do to you, and that it wasn’t good for your health. Still I kept doing it. I called it Doing “My Thing” I even would make statements like: ” Well we are going to die from something.” Today I would call it stupid. I know many of you may have heard people speak this way as well.”  Well lets move on….It was in 2003 two things had happen to me, that knocked me off my feet. It was then a choice either to let it go are keep doing “My Thing” With a negative attitude behind it.Decision that needed to be made, and only I could make them.  There is so much I can share about my journey dealing with bad habits. Again we all have them, are has had them.  I will share what I believe could be helpful to someone. March 11th 2003 I decided to let it go. But I could not have done it by myself. That day I called on the Name of Jesus Christ. Calling out to Him for HELP! Tears rolling down my face.  I did remember when I had heard about “John 3:16-17 and Romans 10:9-10.” About Him forgiving us of all my Sins. I confess that I knew Who He was.  I wanted to give my heart and life to Him. From that day my life has not been the same. He took away the taste of smoke that was in me. Again I could not have done it without His help. Today He gets all the Glory from my life. No one else. God can do anything! Go to Him and ask. I’m a non-smoker haven’t picked up a cigarette since 2003. I witness my life testimony with others. Whatever kind of habit, are habits that you may be dealing with by yourself; that is not good for your body. I was dealing with more than one habit as well. God knows all about our sins! We can not hide them from Him. We may hide some of them from others, that aren’t around us daily. But know this that God knows (All) things. Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the LORD with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.” Amen!! Amen!! Jesus Christ has not changed not at all. He is still the same God that Saved me back then, and He can Save you as well. By the way every 11th date of each month I celebrate my anniversary. Either I do something for me, are for someone else. It is a reminder to myself that ” My God can do anything!” He gets Praise and Glory everyday. He is a God of Healing. There is HOPE! ” Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD. Psalm 31:24″ Well until next time if it be His Will I will be continue doing what I have been ordain to do in His name. Shalom! Agape!

Sister Betty Jo

” As far as the east is from the west, so far has [God] removed our transgressions from us.” Psalm 103:12 Amen!!

Leave a Reply

